Excuse the pun in the title, I couldn’t help myself.  The euphoria of a short week followed by a long weekend has clearly got to me.  I still have no plans apart from the obligatory excessive chocolate consumption so I’ve had a look around the web to see if I can find some inspiration.  Here are some of my top picks….

Screen Shot 2017-04-13 at 10.32.06

Easter Egg Hunt

Now, nothing can beat a good old fashioned Easter egg hunt to make everyone smile with nostalgia.  London has several organised hunts going on this weekend and I spotted that Hampton Court Palace has a hunt with Lindt chocolate bunnies, my absolute fave.

Screen Shot 2017-04-13 at 10.31.26

Live Performances

If traditional Easter is your thing and you are a fan of live theatre then you should definitely head down to Trafalgar Square on Good Friday.  They have two performances of The Passion of Christ with over 100 actors and live animals – what could go wrong. I think even if you’re not religious it’d be a great spectacle to watch.

If you fancy a bit of live theatre, there are loads of last minute tickets up for grabs too. Why not make a night of it and head over to Covent Garden for a late night supper and a nightcap or two?

Classic Cars

Another free activity for the petrol head in your life is the Warterloo Classics car show.  I hadn’t heard of it before but apparently it’s a monthly meet up for owners of classic cars. Anyone with an interest in cars can turn up and take a look at the range of cars on display.  Someone must have planned this well as for those of us with little interest in cars, there’s a flea market next door so we can browse at our leisure whilst the car enthusiasts gawp at the motors.

Screen Shot 2017-04-13 at 10.48.07

Choctails

If cars and egg hunts aren’t your thing and you’re looking for a more grown up way to enjoy the Easter break then I may have found just the thing.  One of my all-time favourite bars, Dirty Martinis, have a special “choctail” menu there are three to choose from, The Malteaser, The Chocolate Martini and The White Rabbit.  They sound so delicious that I may well try all of them – well Easter is about over indulgence right?

Fireworks and Tall Ships

Not normally two things that you tend to associate with each other but, this weekend there are over 30 Tall Ships moored in the Thames near Maritime Greenwich and Woolwich.  You can board one of the ships and sale up the Thames and be met with a fireworks finale!   If you prefer dry land, then why not head up to one of London’s many rooftop bars to take in the fireworks and the London skyline. That’s definitely one for me to nudge the Husband about. I love a good firework display.

What are you up to this weekend?  Have you got any good recommendations? I’d love to hear them.  Let me know in the comments section below.